Product Review: McCain’s Frozen French Fries

After my successful attempt at making French Fries at home, I was intrigued enough to give frozen ones a shot. I’ve read Vir Sanghvi (prominent journalist and noted food critic), whom I look up to, praising McCain’s line of frozen products often. I got a pack for Rs 60 from a Star Bazaar outlet and most departmental shops stock McCain’s these days.

Here’s my experience and the outcome:

The packet says fries don’t need thawing but in my experience, it turns out better if you let them thaw for a couple of minutes. It takes another couple of minutes to deep fry and you have firm, tasty, McDonald’s type French Fries ready.

Verdict: They’re definitely tasty but frozen and packaged meals do nothing for your health. Zero nutritional value. So what I’d say is that give McCain a shot if you entertain often or have frequent visitors at home since they make for a quick, no hassle snack. For daily or regular consumption, it’s a big no-no.

Caught in the act

About Manali Shah

Postmodern. Spiritual. Feminist.

Posted on September 11, 2011, in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Looks Brilliant! And I was just gonna comment on the “health” thing when I started reading that it is frozen! πŸ˜€ When are you gonna make Lasagna?

  2. Wow!!! Coooool!! And here’s a humble (if not too big) request! Since I really (Like REALLY) don’t have time to make elaborate dishes like Lasagna, (Plus I don’t have an oven now) can you please please PLEASE guest post on mine too? πŸ˜‰ Of course link your original post in your blog at every paragraph (even every sentence you want). Even if the whole post screams, “THIS IS MANALI’S RECIPE”, I’ll be too happy! πŸ˜€ I have a Lasagna recipe in my drafts since 2 months!!!! But now there is no chance of making until the next year! 😐 In fact, Swati’s making Spaghetti & guest posting on my blog!! πŸ˜€ (I just told her about my food blog /7 got her to write her own travel blog :P)


    Kavi
    Edible Entertainment

    • Arre Kavi, itna please kyu! I’ll be more than happy to. If the recipe you have doesn’t require an oven, send it across. Otherwise I’ll go ahead with the one I have. Mail/Facebook Swati’s blog link to me. I’d like to have a lookie.

  3. She is very secretive! πŸ˜› She says she has just written the 1st post & she hasn’t posted it yet. She wants to be clear on what she’s gonna write & then only give me the link, it seems!
    My recipe needs an oven. Yours doesn’t?! So cool man! When are you making? I can’t wait! πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜€

    • @Kavi: Nope, it doesn’t. But I need to scout a li’l more to find interesting options for the filling. And also need to figure out where I can get fancy cheeses from.. ricotta, parmesan etc.

  4. u look adorable in this photo πŸ˜€

  1. Pingback: Kiwi Fruit Sandesh « Nothing Intellectual

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Custard for a birthday « Nothing Intellectual

Have an opinion? Voice it.

