Day 2: Course 2: ‘Bamboo’ Hot and Sour Soup

Today was the second part of The Seven Course Meal Project. I was a little tensed about today’s course. I thought making a soup would require a lot of work and the recipe read arduous. I was wrong! It’s fairly simple and even an amateur chef like me could come up with such a delightful soup! 🙂

I was really keen on including mushrooms in the recipe but the store had run out of  them by the time I reached. So it was a bit of a dampener but the bamboo shoots lifted my spirits considerably!

The soup smelled divine and the taste came astonishingly close to the soup you get at Chinese restaurants here.

Bamboo Hot and Sour Soup by Chef Manali Shah

Recipe from Sanjeev Kapoor’s website.

Watch out for the third course i.e. salads tomorrow 😉

– Chef Manali

About Manali Shah

Postmodern. Spiritual. Feminist.

Posted on May 31, 2011, in The Seven Course Meal Project and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I really love that kind of soup. I didn’t know it was so easy to make, will have to try some myself! Good job 🙂

  2. The soup looks delectable, chef Manali!
    Awaiting the rest of the course 🙂

  1. Pingback: Kadai Matar Paneer « Nothing Intellectual

Have an opinion? Voice it.

